Intake and Exhaust The ultimate forum to ask, discuss, and answer tech related questions regarding MyG37 intake and exhaust.

OE Exhaust painting & new fasteners recreation

Old 07-31-2018, 04:31 AM
Justin Bailey
Registered Member

Received 64 Likes on 48 Posts
Red face OE Exhaust painting & new fasteners recreation

Hi everyone, I have a 2015 G body coupe (rebadged G) "Q60S" AWD w Auto, and it has the sport brakes. I've had for 2 years and just wanted to paint my entire exhaust system to prevent rust because I live in the NE. I'm having fun with it so far, just wanted to share it here.

Last edited by Justin Bailey; 07-31-2018 at 11:16 PM.
Old 07-31-2018, 08:51 PM
Justin Bailey
Registered Member

Had this car from new and am financing after leasing for 2 years. I am a truck driver and do not drive it a lot. Right now it has almost 12k miles.

So you can see here around the flange joints as well as the fasteners or studs rust has begun.

It's typical, I know, but figured I'd make it a project to do something about it. At first I just freed all the nuts, never seized the threads and re-tightened, but was unsatisfied.

Thanks to sbowden99, providing a good example of rust that can occur on a G37 in this Feb 2018 thread:

https://www.myg37.com/forums/body-in...2012-g37x.html

Link directly to the photos: https://imgur.com/a/pmxf4

I will try to do some things to prevent against this if possible.

Last edited by Justin Bailey; 02-13-2019 at 10:10 PM.
Old 07-31-2018, 08:58 PM
Justin Bailey
Registered Member

Decided to replace the studs with stainless bolts and had a tough time getting them out and did not want to use a hammer so I made this press from some old 1/2" leaf spring. This worked without heat.

Last edited by Justin Bailey; 08-01-2018 at 01:43 AM.
Old 07-31-2018, 09:25 PM
Justin Bailey
Registered Member