Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

how do you guys brake?

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2008, 06:09 PM
ucla bruin

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
how do you guys brake?

If you're in 4th gear, maybe 3k rpm and coming up on a stop sign or red light. What do you do to brake. Some put it in N and brakes to a stop, some just let off the throttle and brakes till close enough then go into N. Is the "correct" way and also the best way to down shift rev match 4-3-2? If so, it seems like you'd have to do that preeety quickly.
Old 01-10-2008, 07:11 PM
chasemyaccord

I'm no expert, but here's my 2 cents...

The short answer is, it depends! Most of the time, I just pop it into neutral and coast to a stop. I don't see why you'd want to down shift and rev match unless you know you'll be on the gas again before the stop.
Old 01-10-2008, 07:18 PM
beestea

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I don't drive a manual often but I would say down shift at least once before going to neutral.

Now on my auto... i baby the brakes because I come from 1 honda, and 1 acura, both which had severely under powered brakes where the rotors would start to warp after 15k miles.

The G's brakes seem to be much much better so far.
Old 01-10-2008, 07:21 PM
6sp-G37

well with me if im coming to a complete stop i'll just shift into neutral and coast, but if im slowing down and knowing im going to get back on the gas i'll down shift and match the rpms with the gears so its a smooth take off. but thats just me.
Old 01-10-2008, 07:23 PM
wireboltman

I always use the engine as a brake and have never put a car in neutral approaching a stop sign in my life.

All this talk of rev matching every gear every time you downshift is unnecessary. Unless you're up by the redline of the gear you're going to downshift into, it's really kind of silly-
Old 01-10-2008, 07:47 PM
6sp-G37

Originally Posted by wireboltman
I always use the engine as a brake and have never put a car in neutral approaching a stop sign in my life.