Lower suspension questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2015, 06:07 PM
jomak123

Received 6 Likes on 1 Post
Question Lower suspension questions

I have a 2011 G37X sedan. I have never lowered any of my cars and am new to the idea and process. I have simple questions like...

How much should you lower your sedan without impacting handling?
What are your options for lowering the suspension?
Is it an expert, novice, moderate modification?
Can you lower the suspension that is on the car now or should you buy aftermarket?

I am new to this and would like to learn. Thanks!
Old 02-02-2015, 06:47 PM
canuck9

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm by no means an expert at this but I can only tell you what I know from my own experience/car.

How much should you lower your sedan without impacting handling? MY 2013 G37S sedan was lowered with Eibach Pro Springs...dropped about 1.25" in front and 1.75" in back as we cut the spring mount rubber 1/2"....after a professional alignment I have noticed no negative impact to how my car handles, rides...I'm quite happy as I got the look I wanted without sacrificing ride quality.

What are your options for lowering the suspension? I went with springs but coilovers are a great way to go...as you can dial in your rides suspension height as well as ride quality on some of the more expensive setups...generally, coilovers will improve handling but might sacrifice a little ride quality for the street and give you a harsher ride.

Is it an expert, novice, moderate modification? I'd say this is a moderate to expert modification...certainly need the right tools and a professional spring compressor comes in handy if changing your springs.

Can you lower the suspension that is on the car now or should you buy aftermarket? Other than cutting the rear spring mount...a rubber cone that the spring sits on (top side)...you can get 1/2" out of this...you have to either buy springs or coil overs.

Hope that helps.

Michael
Old 02-02-2015, 10:27 PM
RexHavoc