Engine, Drivetrain & Forced-Induction
Have Technical Questions or Done Modifications to the G37? Find out the answer in here!

6 Speed 1st to 2nd rough shift

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2010, 11:33 AM
devin98

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
6 Speed 1st to 2nd rough shift

I have a 2009 G37S Manual and I am fairly new to manual however I have driven a few different manual cars in the past. I notice the shift between first and second no matter what I do always seems a little rough. I am normally shifting around 3000rpms.<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comfficeffice" /><o></o>
<o></o>
Ideas?<o></o>
Old 03-12-2010, 11:59 AM
snaik69

get used to it....you are not alone....thats the g37 clutch for ya!

like you, im constantly trying different things (how i approach the shift) to try and smooth things out and im beginning to obsess about it to the point where it is not allowing me to enjoy the ride!

I really considering trying the "clutch fix #2" that is posted in the DIY section...check it out. In involves a slight mod to the clutch pedal assembly. Many members that have tried it say the shifts are alot smoother.

link for diy: https://www.myg37.com/forums/d-i-y-i...a-feeling.html

Last edited by snaik69; 03-12-2010 at 12:04 PM.
Old 03-12-2010, 12:12 PM
ucla bruin

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I just power shift 1st to 2nd

Jk.
Old 03-12-2010, 06:40 PM
chilibowl

Received 82 Likes on 65 Posts
Let the clutch out slower...the 1-2 shift is the hardest to learn in these cars. But my biggest tip to you is to let the clutch out slower to allow the RPM's to fall to where they belong.

Simply put, if the car tugs at you, you took too long to shift. If the car lurches forward, you shifted too fast. Find the sweet spot folks
Old 03-12-2010, 06:45 PM
rAvi665

Do you let your car warm up? I noticed if I warm up my car for 5 mins everytime or when the engine temp. gauge is in the middle before driving its not that hard of a shift. It works for me.