Brakes & Suspension Reviews on brakes & suspension for G vehicles.

Review Z1 Motorsports urethane differential bushings+subframe collars

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2021, 05:30 AM
PhatherPhish
Registered Member

Received 26 Likes on 22 Posts
Z1 Motorsports urethane differential bushings+subframe collars

Diff. Bushings

About a month ago I pulled the plug on the Z1 urethane differential bushings for my bone stock sport sedan. My stock bushing had not blown yet (which I only found out after I drilled into the rubber and was blasted with oil) but it had deep cracks forming in the rubber. I just put the subframe collars in yesterday.

Installation was grueling to say the least. I am not experienced when it comes to jobs like this but I was not expecting it to take me 10+ hours in total without using Z1’s removal tool. Because of this, I would not recommend getting these unless you absolutely need new bushings, are already doing work on your differential, or are planning to have a shop install them

I ended up using an air chisel to roll up the metal outer sleeve of the rear bushing, and pry the front bushings out. A 10 inch hex bolt, some nuts, and the old bottom washers from the front bushings were used to make a tool similar (and much cheaper) to the one Z1 sells. Even with this tool the rear bushing was still a pain to finally get in however, the front bushing went in easily by hammering them in.

Driving with only the differential bushings installed, I did not notice any increase in NVH. The rear did feel tighter and the torque came on harsher, but it was not a grand difference. Body roll was seemingly increased substantially.

Subframe collars

Installing these was a breeze compared to the differential bushings, and took me a little over an hour. Even though they do require quite a bit of force to insert, this was probably the easiest install I have done yet.