General Tech Questions Scheduled maintenance, Tune-ups Oil changes, service bulletins and other FAQs for the G37

Oil drain plug leaking; madness ensues

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2016, 04:10 PM
Overboard
Registered Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Oil drain plug leaking; madness ensues

I've been doing my own car maintenance for over 30 years, plenty of experience maintaining and modding cars in that time. I changed my oil last weekend, and re-used the crush washer. I know:

Had a small leak from the drain plug, and with no Infiniti dealer convenient to my house, I tried adding a little torque. Nope. So I got a generic M12 copper crush washer from the local parts store. Replaced it without having to dump all of the oil*, and thought I was done. Nope. Added torque. No help, still a slow drip.

So I sucked it up, went to the dealer and got two fresh, Infiniti-approved crush washers, for the princely sum of $0.36 and once more replaced the crush washer without dumping all of the oil*.

There. Is. Still. A. Leak. I'm really disappointed and confused. With my previous car, a WRX, I replaced the crush washer a grand total of twice over 40-some oil changes for the 12 years I owned it. Never a leak. (from there )

I'm 99.99% sure, after checking it four separate times that it is the crush washer/drain plug leaking, and not running down from a leak higher on the engine or oil pan. I'm ready to take it to a shop to get this looked at under warranty, but wanted to see if anyone else has had a similar problem. I'm sure that I oriented the washer correctly, and torque was close to spec. Any constructive advice appreciated!

* The last time I was at the dealer a few months ago, they told me it was leaking, changing only the crush washer was impossible, and I'd have to pay for a full oil change. I wanted it done, so I didn't object, despite my BS meter being pegged. If I can do it on my back in my garage, surely trained mechanics can do this with a lift.