Notices
Body Interior Exterior Lighting

Wanting to get lights smoked...plus other need advice??

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2012, 01:50 AM
txg37x

Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts
Wanting to get lights smoked...plus need other advice??

I went to a local shop in TX to ask about getting my headlights and tail lights smoked. The guys were quoting an awesome price of less than $150 for all four lights since I've gotten other work done with them. They said they would put a clear coat w/ a bit of black paint on the outside of the lights to give it the smoked look. They also said that the paint could be easily removed if it was ever needed. I have an Obsidian Black 2011 G37x Sedan, so I'm thinking the blacked out lights would look great with a black grill.
Does painting the outside of the lights this way sound right? I am new to modding, so still learning the ropes.

Also, more immediately I want to make the chrome window parts black. I've seen a few posts of individuals vinyling it. The shop said it would have to be a thin vinyl which may easily show fingernail marks (much like the standard door vinyl already shows). Maybe I should go to a shop that specifically focuses on vinyl for this work?

Lastly, any suggestions on whether to the grill vinyled or have the grill painted satin black?

Thanks for helping a new member to the forum!

Last edited by txg37x; 09-15-2012 at 02:17 AM.
Old 09-15-2012, 02:40 AM
InfiniteSmoke

Received 21 Likes on 14 Posts
Welcome. Search feature is always a great tool. How I got to know stuff quicker than getting a response.

But yes, painting the taillights sounds just right. Heavier the coat, the darker the shade.

Headlights, you would want to actually take it apart, and actually paint the housing separately. Requires more work, but the finish is much better.

Window trim. Vinyl or paint would work. Same concept.

Grille. Goss black. Not a fan of vinyl on that.

Good luck!
Old 09-15-2012, 03:01 AM
LegitMW

Received 37 Likes on 29 Posts