Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2nd gear grinding normal

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2009, 06:27 PM
chillinuf

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry 2nd gear grinding normal

You read that right. This all took place over the phone, but Orlando Infiniti tells me after having my car all day that according to their engineer it is normal for the tranny to grind from 1st to 2nd at high rpm (7k).

I obviously told them that is ridiculous and to produce the documentation that details the "normal transmission grind". Oh that doesn't exist? No kidding.

After explaining to the service adviser that I'm a mechanical engineer and not the average village idiot he agreed with me, but was "just delivering the message". WTF? He tells me he will go back to the service manager who should be in contact with me. They offered to let me drive another 6MT so I could see for myself that it's normal, LMAO. Oh yeah, they don't have one....how convenient.

SOOO, since it's "normal"....does anybody have a regular grind shifting into 2nd when you tach it all the way over in 1st?

What do you guys think I should do from here besides call Infiniti?

Thanks.

Last edited by chillinuf; 09-09-2009 at 08:38 PM.
Old 09-09-2009, 07:16 PM
WhiteG37S

I bounce it off the rev-limited daily and I never grind...either you synchros are out or you just don't know how to shift!!
Old 09-09-2009, 07:38 PM
ucla bruin

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Describe the grind?

I don't have this problem, but hopefully traffic will be good enough for me to test it out today.
Old 09-09-2009, 07:49 PM
DJ Hellfire

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
One member here said his dealer gave him a new clutch and trans. He said the dealer told them they've done 6 trans already. But that was a coupe. Should be no different!
Old 09-09-2009, 08:00 PM
js3350z

maybe your not pushing the clutch far enough... to much gangster lean going on in the sedan???