My MODeSt Thread

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2011, 03:13 PM
Dejan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My MODeSt Thread

BEFORE:

AFTER:

I guess I was the last one to order the OEM Spoiler from imstricken before he got himself banned. It arrived few days back, correct color and model - K23 Liquid Platinum with Nav.

Now, I am no DIY expert (my biggest DIY project to date was changing the bulbs...no, not on headlights, in my house), so it took me almost 3 hours, but I did it!

I must say that it looks even better in person than on pics. Original spoiler makes the rear end look tall and narrow. With this one, car looks wide and lower, so I am very very pleased! Color is an exact match and so are the connectors for rear camera, GPS antenna, FM antenna and the Stop Light. And that silly antenna is now gone!

Installation was not too difficult, although I had a few major fights with hole saw, and lost most of them. Fitment was the easiest part - it is an OEM spoiler, so everything aligned perfectly. As long as you drill the screw holes in exactly the right place, it just pops in right where it should be, and I am pretty sure that it won't warp as there is nothing pushing it sideways.

Next.. LED Mirror Covers with LED turn signal behind the mirror glass.

Last edited by Dejan; 04-09-2011 at 03:35 AM. Reason: Added Pics
Old 04-08-2011, 04:51 PM
bschurr
Registered Member

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Very nice! Congrats on the install. Hopefully you now have more confidence in your skills and will do more, and more and more... The mod bug is certainly contagous!

But...
Old 04-08-2011, 04:58 PM
Dejan

LOL, I know...pics first thing in the morning! As for my skills, I am VERY lucky that spoiler is wide enough to hide few serous scratches when hole saw decided to take a walk around the hole....

Next few mods will be easier as there will be no drilling involved, but I'll have to remove door trim, take mirrors apart and do some electrical wiring.
Old 04-08-2011, 10:29 PM
cvipgo