Engine, Drivetrain & Forced-Induction
Have Technical Questions or Done Modifications to the G37? Find out the answer in here!

Help Does anyone know what this rattling noise could be?

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2018, 12:33 PM
DatG37guy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Does anyone know what this rattling noise could be?

Hi, it's my first time posting here and was wondering if anyone could help me out. About more than a week ago, I noticed this rattling noise on my 2011 G37X Sedan . Every time I accelerate from 0-3 rpms I hear this rattling by the driver side of the car. Plus you can hear it more when it goes from 2 rpms back to 0. I'll post a video up so you can a better understand of what I'm taking about. I saw this other youtube video as well with same car and had a similar sound, apparently it was a bad catalytic converter. Do you guys think this might be the issue? Any help would be appreciated!!! Thank You!!
Old 12-09-2018, 12:39 PM
DatG37guy

Old 12-09-2018, 01:18 PM
Bostonreefer

Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts
where you live? ill put my money on some place with salt!!
I have been battling this same issue myself since i bought my car last year.(2011 g37x)
My knucles are actually still freezing at time of typing this from putting on yet another hose clamp this morning around yet abother rusted heat shield.

Might not be your problem but could be:
Rusty heat shields!!
Get under your car (when its cold) and put your hand on around the cat and exhaust. Are the heat shield on nice and tight and clean or are they rusty pieces of **** with every clamp bolt rusted off. Cause this was the case with mine and causing the same sound your describing.