D.I.Y. Installations/Modifications Do It Yourself guides and information for the G37. Stickies approved by Administrators and Moderators.

Spoiler Install

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2008, 11:02 PM
shaybly

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Spoiler Install

I am not a mechanic and take no responsibility for the following thoughts:

My car is a Journey Auto with the chrome spoiler.

Recieved and installed the Grubbs Spoiler today, $317 shipped.
Instructions sucked and were not specific to Infiniti cars. Spoiler is nice.
It took me several hours for the install because I didn't know what I was doing, didn't want to mess up my new car and the instructions were useless.
Here's what I did. I used a flat screwdriver, pliers, electrical tape, drill and a flashlight. I would recommend unhooking the battery before messing with your car's electronics.

First remove the truck lid liner by prying everything loose. Remove the little round clips, the 2 big round ones, the trunk lid handle and emergency lid release.

Name:  spoiler015.jpg
Views: 1582
Size:  67.1 KB

The chrome spoiler is held on by 4 nuts.

Name:  spoiler004_1.jpg
Views: 1659
Size:  56.0 KB
Name:  spoiler003_1.jpg
Views: 1626
Size:  69.0 KB

After removing nuts, carefully pry off the spoiler.

Name:  spoiler005_1.jpg
Views: 2207
Size:  36.7 KB

Check the fit of the new one, and use some masking tape to mark the correct postion. Feed all of the wire through the hole shown in the picture. Because of the 3M tape, it is not super easy to move around once placed on the car. I followed the recommendation of spraying some water on the adhesive so it wouldn't stick so much.

Once I got it on in the right location, it was time to figure out how the heck to deal with the screws. I started with the 2 far end screws and needed to drill a new hole in the spoiler, because the pre-drilled hole did not line up.

Name:  spoiler007_1.jpg
Views: 1562
Size:  30.9 KB