Car Care & Detailing Washing, waxing, cleaning, caring.

New black G37 - where to start?

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2010, 01:47 AM
ExtraCrispy
Registered Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New black G37 - where to start?

I'm new to this whole detailing thing, and after reading up on this I have some questions.

- does a new car still need clay bar/polishing or any other treatment?

I was planning on using either Ultima Paint Guard Plus or Opti-seal, both of which are highly recommended.

- Once this is done, what goes on top? e.g. should I use something like Optimum Car Wax is a spray wax made with real carnauba and synthetic paint sealants for protection & shine! high-grade carnauba wax and silicone

- what do I need to maintain the finish? Car wash+spray on wax every few weeks?
e.g. Duragloss Aquawax (AW) #951 - I read this can be applied while car is wet.

- black gets dirty every day! Is there a way to minimize this? Do you use a duster every morning?

And finally, I know everyone here washes their own cars but my apt doesn't have water hose. Should I just take it to a hand car wash?

Thanks for all the help!
Old 04-11-2010, 11:51 AM
Detailed Image
Auto Detailing Expert

Received 69 Likes on 52 Posts
Originally Posted by ExtraCrispy
I'm new to this whole detailing thing, and after reading up on this I have some questions.

- does a new car still need clay bar/polishing or any other treatment?

I was planning on using either Ultima Paint Guard Plus or Opti-seal, both of which are highly recommended.

- Once this is done, what goes on top? e.g. should I use something like Optimum Car Wax

- what do I need to maintain the finish? Car wash+spray on wax every few weeks?
e.g. Duragloss Aquawax (AW) #951 - I read this can be applied while car is wet.

- black gets dirty every day! Is there a way to minimize this? Do you use a duster every morning?