Buying & Leasing Interested in getting a G37? Ask your Questions in here.

First time buying questions.

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2009, 02:09 PM
djsk

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First time buying questions.

Hey all,

This is my first time ever buying a new car from a dealer and have couple questions. So before going into the dealership, I will have an approved lender or bank to finance the car so I can take advantage of the $2,500 incentive.

So after you negotiate the final price of the car, I have a question on what happens afterwards. From reading the forums, it seems like you sit down with the finance manager and he tries to sell you the extended warranty and the maintenance package, and maybe the GAP. Is there anything else they try to sell you?

Now from reading the forums, it seems like the maintenance package is not worth it.

How about the extended warranty. Four years does seem low for what they currently offer. However I never owned a Nissan or an Infiniti before. What do you guys think? And how much does the extended warranty run for?

Is there anything else I’m missing?

Thanks!
Old 07-03-2009, 01:22 AM
InfiniDrew

First of all...keep in mind that "it all depends on your dealer." I've heard of dealers who do all the negotiations and were real helpful and I've also heard that when you really start to negotiate, the manager comes in and does all the negotiating. Recently, I've been reading about people negotiating over emails even before they step into a dealer (which is what I've just started to try out). When we bought our Pathfinder a couple years ago, I hadn't done any research and got hosed on a few parts. I did manage to get the main price of the Pathfinder down, but after that price was settled, I was undercut by the price they gave me for the trade-in...I was just happy that I got a few thousand knocked off the MSRP. lol