Northern California San Francisco, Oakland, Sacramento, San Jose, Pleasanton, etc.

Uprev vs Ecutek and where?

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2016, 11:11 AM
kavcheung
Registered Member

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Uprev vs Ecutek and where?

Whats up guys,

I plan to get either uprev or ecutek tune in the near future but can't decide on which one and which tuner to go with. Lately it seems like Ecutek is the way to go and I was planning on going to ZCG but they don't deal with Ecutek.

What do you guys have and where did you go?

Thanks.
Old 02-01-2016, 02:11 PM
JUMBO PALACE
Registered Member

Received 68 Likes on 48 Posts
Bumping for answers. Planning on RHFC and a tune come spring time and I have no experience with tunes.
Old 02-01-2016, 03:33 PM
evil-G-nius
Registered Member

Received 395 Likes on 238 Posts
Depends on where you are. I know the Sonoma Raceway has Uprev licenses. I guess price would be the next factor, some places over charge like crazy. I went to a place down not too far from where I live and it was gonna be like $1500 bucks for the license/install and 3 dyno runs no tune. The tune was extra dyno time and they didnt even offer custom maps. So look into all of that as well
Old 02-01-2016, 05:17 PM
hooey_b

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Go with Ecutek. They have the true values for the VVEL, so you'll be able to advance/retard intake cams to some certain degree.

also, boost by gear...true 2 step launch, flex fuel tuning based on ethanol content...those are just only some of the distinguishing features that I can remember over UpRev.

I own a 2008 which is unsupported by Ecutek, but I'm going to make it work anyways.

Also, pricing on average (from what I've seen) is aroudn $800 to $850 for the RaceROM tune. Dynotronics, down in TX, specializes in tuning, so they can offer a huge discount on their e-tune service ($660 RaceROM tune, includes the Tuning suite kit, license, and unlimited revisions to update from Ecutek yearly.
Old 03-15-2016, 04:44 AM