Newbie Corner New Members Corner! - If you're new to MyG37.com, please take a moment to check in, introduce yourself and show us your G37!

Increase MPG mods.... any? how about...

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2010, 08:58 PM
WhiteAWDcoupe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Increase MPG mods.... any? how about...

Are there any real ways to increase MPG? i only have 5k miles on my car so im not sure what would be best to start messing around with first. I am modding my car but i dindt want to touch a dam thing under the hood but change the oil. Before this car i have a 520whp subaru so im not a complete noob. What i was thinking was to free up the breathing system with only these mods...k&n filters once i hit 15k and either now or later..test pipes? what they do anything for me?
Old 03-20-2010, 09:16 PM
G37Sam
Administrator

Received 242 Likes on 192 Posts
The best way to increase your MPG is to make your right foot lighter, maybe get a CF replacement? lol

Jokes aside, buying mods for improved mileage isn't so smart, unless you plan on keeping the car for 10 years or so, how much fuel are you going to save from an added 1mpg that's going to cost you $500? Someone with a 520whp Suby would know better hahaha
Old 03-20-2010, 09:21 PM
WhiteAWDcoupe

well, i do plan on keeping the car for a good amount of time. Besides buying lighter sneakers, im guessing the filters are the only thing that would help any? lol
Old 03-20-2010, 11:04 PM
Mike

Received 20 Likes on 11 Posts
Lighter sneakers, weight reduction, low friction/resistance tires.

Driver mod will make the biggest difference.

You may have had a big whp subie before, but the power isn't instantaneous as with a larger displacement engine, so it is MUCH easier to get lower mpg daily driving. Of course, at the track, I'd expect the Subie to do much worse.
Old 04-07-2010, 03:06 PM
carz

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
go buy a turbonator...power boost and mpg boost lol

(that was only a joke)