MODDING 411 Aftermarket Parts Available for the G37: What's Good, What's Not, Where to Go etc.

inertia-reduction for improving acceleration, a detailed analysis

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2011, 11:18 PM
harbin9er
Registered Member

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
inertia-reduction for improving acceleration, a detailed analysis

Hi all

I just want to post up my recent findings on reducing inertia in order to improve acceleration.

First, a little bit about myself - I am reasonably competent in the field of kinetics and dynamics, as I am currently a PhD student in mechanical/controls engineering, and hold a masters degree in the same field. I drive a 2008 G37S Coupe 6MT, but not very often (I baby it)

Right now, my confirmed modding goals are: 1. Eibach springs, 2. GTM TT (some time down the road). My other modding 'guidelines' are a) dont mess with engine internals, and b) keep the luxury equipment c) make car accelerate faster d) handling upgrades are not a priority because I don't drive aggressively around corners

Recently I became obsessed with figuring out how to reduce inertia on my car so that it would accelerate faster. I didn't want to strip the car, because a) you need to remove a lot of non-rotational mass to get any meaningful performance increase, and b) I want to keep luxury equipment (and rear seats). So then I considered lightened rotational components.

After extensive research, I found lightened aftermarket parts for the flywheel/clutch assy, crank pulley, brake rotors, and wheels/rims/tires. While reducing the mass of ANY part of your car will improve acceleration, what most people don't mention is HOW MUCH improvement (and more importantly, the cost-effectiveness) we can get with each lightened part.
Since most of the information out there is anecdotal, I wanted to find out and prove the answers for myself (by deriving dynamic equations).