G37 Sedan

Debadge and Relocate

Old 07-12-2013, 08:43 PM
Rochester
Administrator

Received 4,571 Likes on 3,422 Posts
Lightbulb Debadge and Relocate

Debadging your car is a zero-cost mod that's as old as dirt. Every car forum has dozens (hundreds) of threads about de-badging the car. Personally, I've never done it before, and have always dismissed the idea with my G37 because it's a 6MT Sedan, and that little red S is pretty rare. There's that, and the fact that I have a Moonlight White Infiniti, and I've always thought chrome bits work well with white.

But recently, a newbie to the forum created an intro/build thread (hello Motoboat), and for the very first time I looked at the idea of removing the G37S badge, while retaining the logo and the INFINITI leters. It's a very balanced look. I really liked it.

So I debadged this afternoon. And it was super easy... hair-dryer, fishing line, goo-b-gone, auto polish, buff, wax and buff. The surface looks pristine, as if it just was never there.

However, that left me with four little chromed plastic pieces, and the dilemma of what to do with them. I'm still proud of my 6MT (duh), but that's a personal sense of pride... I don't give a **** about advertising to people who don't know any different. That led me to the obvious answer: it belongs under the hood. And since I also like detailing the engine bay, it's a perfect place for it.

Pics, pics, pics...

Last edited by Rochester; 10-31-2013 at 10:37 AM.
The following 2 users liked this post by Rochester:
blnewt (07-12-2013), e3phung (08-04-2015)
Old 07-12-2013, 09:17 PM
TunerMax

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I like it!
Nice work Rochester.

I do have to ask, because it's me, why stop there.
Most cars, I don't like fully debadged usually, but the G's look flawless with it done.

Very quickly with MSpaint:

Option #1, very good flow, good centerline, small letters, unlike the 1st generation G's, this actually works well and looks good on the 2nd/3rd Gens. I like this a lot: