G37 Sedan

G37xS Sedan AWD question

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2012, 05:35 PM
burtonsnowbds

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
G37xS Sedan AWD question

I've tried to find the answer to this question everywhere... Im new to AWD cars and just bought an 09 G37xS Sedan. Does AWD mean that it is constantly engaged, if not is the AWD constantly engaged on the G37x?

Can you change this? How do you turn it on and off, etc.....
Old 06-06-2012, 05:50 PM
dkmura
Registered Member

Received 78 Likes on 67 Posts
The Infiniti Intelligent AWD system acts like a RWD car in most instances. It delivers power to the rear axle unless there's a loss of traction, in which case, it begins sending power to the front axle. The only way to engage AWD manually is to press the 'snow' mode on the console.
Old 06-06-2012, 06:29 PM
spect2k

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by dkmura
The Infiniti Intelligent AWD system acts like a RWD car in most instances. It delivers power to the rear axle unless there's a loss of traction, in which case, it begins sending power to the front axle. The only way to engage AWD manually is to press the 'snow' mode on the console.
I believe that is incorrect. The snow button does little more than adjust throttle response and I believe it sends more power to the front coming closer to a 50/50 split when under 25mph. Above 25mph, it becomes 100% rear wheel drive unless slip is detected, at which point it could send some power to the front.

When not in snow mode: Under 25mph, the car is 20/80 rear biased split. Above 25mph, again, it will be 100% rwd and will send some power forward if it's needed. The exact mph and percentages are up for debate I believe.