Engine, Intake and Exhaust Subforum dedicated to breather or engine mods (intakes, exhaust, pulleys, N/A mods etc.)
View Poll Results: Am I a complete idiot?
Complete idiot
50.00%
Not a complete idiot
50.00%
Voters: 2. You may not vote on this poll

3.5 inch y pipe?

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2021, 02:08 AM
Sgt.toast
Registered Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3.5 inch y pipe?

So I was looking through CBEs today and noticed all the configurations had a 2.5 inch joining to a 3 inch y pipe. Doing some simple math, 2(pi/4)(2.5)^2) gives us the cross-sectional equivalent of the 2.5 inch part. This equates to about 9.8 inch^2 while the 3 inch comes to about 7.1. Wouldn't it make more sense to go with a 2.5 going into 3.5? 3.5 inch pipe would have a 9.6 inch^2 area which is closer to the two 2.5 inch area of 9.8. Am I missing something here? Also I'm completely new to the modding scene so if I sound like a complete idiot, or if the 2.5-3.5 inch exists feel free to call me an idiot and correct me. If you guys have some recommendations please let me know as well. I have a 2013 g37x so I might not be able to use some pipes.
Old 04-05-2021, 08:10 AM
projectpanda13
Registered Member

Received 262 Likes on 215 Posts
I tried to have this done but it would have costed me too much for a 2.5" primary then merge to 3.5". My current y pipe is 2.5" > 3.0" > 3.5" merge outlet. My exhaust is a 3.5" single
I haven't ran the setup yet. I'm still trying to put my engine bakc in the car.
The following users liked this post:
Sgt.toast (04-05-2021)
Old 04-05-2021, 12:07 PM
BULL
Moderador

Received 721 Likes on 561 Posts
Originally Posted by Sgt.toast