D.I.Y. Installations/Modifications Do It Yourself guides and information for the G37. Stickies approved by Administrators and Moderators.

Water pump questions & DIY info

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2018, 09:31 PM
Jamie Nguyen
Registered Member

Received 24 Likes on 18 Posts
Water pump questions & DIY info

hi guys newbie here
soooo I got a 2008 g37s 130k
so I知 going in to replace my water pump and I was wondering if I might as change out the gally gaskets while I知 at it and if there anything else I should replace while I知 in there
and if there was anything I need to watch out for
this is where I知 at
and tips for the harmonic balancer
thanks in advance

Old 10-26-2018, 10:16 PM
Jamie Nguyen
Registered Member

Sooooo yea harmonic balancer..... lol
Old 10-26-2018, 10:35 PM
GdaddyNY
Registered Member

Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts
I recently installed a Stillen lightweight crank pulley. I知 in the northeast and I knew it would be a bear to get the bolt out. I ended up warming the bolt up with MAP gas and holding the balancer with very large Channel Locks and breaking it free with a breaker bar. While I replaced the pulley, I also replaced the bolt and oil seal. Worked out great.
Old 10-26-2018, 10:40 PM
Jamie Nguyen
Registered Member

so if anybody wants to buy me an early Christmas present it would be a breaker bar and possibly a new Matco pry bar lol
so I locked the harmonic balancer with the pry bar and the ground hopefully this doesn’t ruin the harmonic balancer, any veteran input?
Old 10-26-2018, 10:42 PM
Jamie Nguyen
Registered Member

Originally Posted by GdaddyNY

I recently installed a Stillen lightweight crank pulley. I知 in the northeast and I knew it would be a bear to get the bolt out. I ended up warming the bolt up with MAP gas and holding the balancer with very large Channel Locks and breaking it free with a breaker bar. While I replaced the pulley, I also replaced the bolt and oil seal. Worked out great.