Brakes, Suspension, Wheels & Tires
Rollers and Rubbers (View All Posts)

Need some help with suspension setup on a Sedan g37x! Springs/Coils?

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2012, 01:54 AM
mogledzinski

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Smile Need some help with suspension setup on a Sedan g37x! Springs/Coils?

Hey guys, so I am pretty new to car modding and I have been doing lots of research recently about lowering my car. I hate that gap between the fender and rims/tires and would like to get rid of it! However, I'd like to do it properly and the best way possible right from the start! First thing is, I can't decide springs vs. coilovers? I have heard that springs are okay if you don't want to go very low, but they can cause the ride to become very stiff/rough and can cause premature wear on the stock suspension components. Replacing my other suspension parts (struts/dampers) plus lowering springs would end up costing around the price of a nice set of coilovers, and I have heard coilovers are nicer because they are sturdier, better built, and better quality. Also, a big benefit of coilovers is height (as well as sometimes dampening) adjustment, and given the fact that winters are pretty harsh out here in Chicago, having the ability to raise the suspension before the snow comes can be nice. So what would be the better route for me? Coils or springs?

Then, since my friends have been convincing me towards coilovers for now at least, I have looked into what is out there, but seem to be having trouble finding what fits my model. I have a 2009 g37x Sedan, and the awd seems to cause a problem with coilover fitment. Which coilovers are available for my model, other than kw v3 and bc? Kw v3 look like a very expensive choice, and I have heard mixed reviews about bc and the ride quality/comfort on them. There are many coils out there but which ones fit the x