Tein Flex Z review (2017)

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2017, 11:15 AM
Domyownstunts

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Tein Flex Z review (2017)

Okay, so at first I struggled finding a good suspension setup for my 2011 g37 journey sedan (35k miles) I read review after review. Finally I decided to go with Tein S-tech's and stock shocks, just to kind of get a feel for things and get the ride height where I wanted it. I still had the stock sways at this point. The ride was better than expected, fairly smooth on good roads. However; if I ran across a big road imperfection it felt like I was crashing into it instead of absorbing it. I felt like this was partially due to my shocks but I'm not an expert and wondered if it wasn't the whole combination together causing this. So back to researching.
I decided to open my wallet a bit farther and run some coilovers. A hand full of options came up. KW, Tein, BC, Tanabe etc. After researching for a couple months I was still puzzled. Every single combination had something that wasn't right, or a bad review all together. KW sags in the rear, tanabe supposedly felt like a boat and was too soft. BC has noise issues. Tein's higher end Mono Flex was too harsh, and so on. Now don't quote me on any of this. Some people had no issues, their were many mixed reviews.
Finally, I found a set of Tein Flex Z's for $800 shipped. I thought this was a pretty good deal and I couldn't find any negative feedback on them at the time, so I put the order in. When the box finally arrived at my door I was quick to inspect everything for damage. Every piece was individually wrapped and seperated from all other pieces. No damage was found, and the finish/build quality seemed pretty darn good. After seeing them with my own eyes I could help but get a little excited.