Is it worth purchasing the akebono brake kit for your sedan?

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2016, 05:15 AM
GR4N4T
Registered Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Is it worth purchasing the akebono brake kit for your sedan?

Im Looking to up my break kit and im not sure what the best way to go about it is, Ive been told that the coupe sport akebonos were solid and comparable to brembos . Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

I currently own a 2011 G37xS and am looking to do some decent mods.

Im a noob open to constructive criticism.

Thanks in advance!
Old 05-06-2016, 05:57 AM
ShuuraRG
Premier Member

Received 131 Likes on 106 Posts
In my opinion, yes, but it depends on what you plan on doing to your car. If any performance mods are in your future, or track time, then yes. Though it's difficult to argue against good brakes, the stock brakes are good enough for most people.
Old 05-06-2016, 08:31 AM
awais
Registered Member

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
For looks yes they are worth it, however keep in mind the 18" duckfeets do not expose the brakes well.

In terms of performance, your car will not stop any faster on the street, you are better off upgrading tires for that. The brake feel improves, the best way to explain is it's more linear. Feels more in control, more stopping power. This was my observation with the stock rubber lines.
Old 05-06-2016, 08:42 AM
blnewt
Movin On!

Received 4,941 Likes on 4,174 Posts
Here's a thread that will give you most of the details, and if you check classifieds here, craiglist, wrecking yards, you might find some used calipers for great deals.
https://www.myg37.com/forums/brakes-...the-cheap.html
The following 2 users liked this post by blnewt:
GR4N4T (05-07-2016), Mkhlmnn (05-06-2016)
Old 05-06-2016, 08:58 AM
Falker11
Premier Member

Received 30 Likes on 24 Posts
If you do, get them painted before install!

edit: did the xS not already come with these??
Old 05-06-2016, 09:11 AM
TheLocNar
Registered Member