Notices
Body Interior Exterior Lighting

Custom 3D Printed Shift Knob project (WIP)

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2019, 07:54 PM
sir_pearlatv
Registered Member

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Custom 3D Printed Shift **** project (WIP)

Hey all - this is a bit of a "project build" thread, as well as an interest thread to see if anyone finds this concept interesting for their own cars, so please leave feedback as I post updates!

For those who don't know me, I've been working in the 3D CAD & 3D Printing industries for several years now and have a fair amount of experience with anything from maker-oriented printers like Prusa's & Makerbots, all the way to professional FDM/SLA/PolyJet and more. I've played a hand in several one-off projects and fun trinkets over the years and learned a lot about the performance and applications of various plastics and polymers, so I'm always interested in finding real applications for my car for aesthetic and functional purposes. One example of a project was a custom insert for my automatic shift **** in my old VW GTI mk6 - it had 2 inserts that managed to snap off on me one day and when I tried to buy a replacement, VW obviously wanted to sell me the whole assembly for ~$300.

I wasn't having any of that and decided to reverse engineer my own inserts and 3D Print them. A few revisions happened and I eventually ended up with some great quality ABS inserts with a little of my own flair thrown in:

Final result with some gloss epoxy finishing

Fast-forward to the other day - I noticed the shift **** in the G is showing some wear and tear. Nothing terrible just yet, but I wanted to see what kind of options were out there for Auto **** replacements... and the pickings were slim. The most interesting thing I found was a service where you send your **** to be resurfaced and covered in Carbon fiber for a few weeks and a pretty-penny.