Audio, Video & Electronics Post questions, reviews, and other general info about the G's Nav, sound system, satellite radio or aftermarket stereos

Full iPhone Video Control on Factory Non-Nav Screen.

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2013, 12:22 PM
wildmanracing

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Full iPhone Video Control on Factory Non-Nav Screen.

So, I'm new to the G37 world, coming from the RX-8 scene. I recently purchase an off-lease 2010 G37 Coupe. Of course I love it, but I missed my full CarPC that I had installed in the retractable Nav screen on my RX. Since I had quite a few parts left from the Mazda, here's what I put together:

I replaced the plastic cover on my factory display with a $10 4-wire touchscreen, and connected it up to a brand new Mimicsx2 board, which I seem to be one of the lucky few to receive. This allows full iPhone control right on the display face. I then "hijacked" the right BACK button below the display by cutting the leads on the circuit board and wired them onto the Mimicsx2 board as my HOME button.

To get video in, I installed a NavTool plug and play unit and installed a full push button on the console between the heated seats controls. I used a regular composite iPhone cable to connect the phone to the video-in and the USB port in the car. In addition, I fabbed my own dock out of ABS plastic and mounted it one the side of the shift console for easy access.

Here's how it works:

Turn on the car and slide the iPhone into the dock. The Mimics bluetooth connects automatically to the phone and the phone to the hands free in the car. I select iPod on the audio system just like normal, then push the extra button by the heated seat controls. The video switches to a landscaped IOS, and most apps work perfectly via the touchscreen and new HOME/BACK button. I mainly use iCarConnect, DashCommand, and several Nav apps. Audio comes through the dock connector clear as A bell for all apps. Even the steering wheel controls work to skip songs and such.