G37 Sedan
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bought a G37x Sedan, want to mod. Limited car knowledge. Where to go from here?

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2015, 02:12 AM
sd404

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bought a G37x Sedan, want to mod. Limited car knowledge. Where to go from here?

A poster from reddit (dnovz41) referred me to here to get some help/insight with my G37x and modding it.

Recently bought a 2013 G37x Sedan with 23.5k miles. I like the car so far, but the drive just feels a bit boring after the first month. I would like to get a more involved feeling while not totally diminishing the ride quality. I don't know as much about cars as I'd like to, so I don't know exactly how to achieve what I'm looking for. Or at least have enough knowledge to know which parts are better than others.

Coming from 250hp to 328hp is a big leap. I'm no professional driver, and still getting used to the hp upgrade. So I'm happy with the performance right now. The engine and exhaust note are amazing, so that is a low priority for me. Plus I'm the type of guy who has more fun at 40 than 80. Also I do a lot of dirt/country/clay road driving on the weekends. They're all well tended to, so I don't have to worry about bottoming out at all. I use to drive my old A3 down them, and that was a lot lower than my current g37x.

From my little bit of time reading through the forums I've seen that If I want to upgrade the breaks, to go for the akebono(sp?) upgrades. I'm still on the fence about those. Also sway bars are a going to be a good start to upgrading the handling without lowering ride quality. I think front/rear struts would be next? But I don't know exactly what that would affect besides handling. I plan on adding paddle shifters as well. From what I've seen it's very simple to do. I would like to add a remote start if it fit's in the budget as well. Recommendations on a good brand/price for that would be appreciated.