How to buy rims? I don't know anything about specs.

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2016, 05:36 PM
Melophile

Received 19 Likes on 14 Posts
How to buy rims? I don't know anything about specs.

So I'm new to this car modding world and have zero clue what anything means. I just bought a 2013 G37 Journey sedan.

How do I pick out rims for it? The only spec I know about is rim size, and that's it. I see everyone else talking about offsets and all this other wheel terminology.

Can anyone take the time to explain in detail all this wheel talk to me please?

I've been looking at the Vossen VFS-6, and those might be the wheels I get. My goal is to have the front wheels flush with the fender and have the rear wheels stick out a little. And I also plan on lowering the car after I get wheels for it. Just trying to do one thing at a time for now.
Old 07-21-2016, 07:00 PM
blnewt
Movin On!

Received 4,941 Likes on 4,174 Posts
Hey Melo, welcome to the site. There's several things to consider~
Are you going to lower your suspension? If so then 20s look good, If not, then stick w/ 18s or 19s.

Do you want to run staggered (wider wheels/tires in back) or square (all the same)?

I would shoot for having a flush fitment rather than any poking, this may cause rubbing issues and having a nice flush setup looks very good.

So with some more specifics I (or others) can help get you the fit you want.
Brad
Old 07-21-2016, 09:03 PM
Melophile

Originally Posted by blnewt
Hey Melo, welcome to the site. There's several things to consider~
Are you going to lower your suspension? If so then 20s look good, If not, then stick w/ 18s or 19s.

Do you want to run staggered (wider wheels/tires in back) or square (all the same)?

I would shoot for having a flush fitment rather than any poking, this may cause rubbing issues and having a nice flush setup looks very good.

So with some more specifics I (or others) can help get you the fit you want.
Brad