MODDING 411 Aftermarket Parts Available for the G37: What's Good, What's Not, Where to Go etc.

What's the difference between CHIPPING and ECU Re-Flash

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2008, 01:33 PM
Ahujadaddy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What's the difference between CHIPPING and ECU Re-Flash

...or is there any diff? Can some please elaborate for me? Would appreciate it

I hear things like... an aftermarket exahsut, intake, etc wont make the proper gains untill you "tune it".
So just wanna know how that ties into chipping or reflashing and whatnot.

Help a n00b out... thanks!
Old 03-07-2008, 03:37 PM
vinnys coupe

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
im not an expert on this but when you add an exhaust n intake your taking in much more air that the engine isnt used to so it wont let it all in or out..

the ecu reset would make the engine read as if thats normal or something like that..

correct if im wrong..

n chippin is more for a turbo
Old 03-11-2008, 11:40 AM
Ahujadaddy

I dont mean ECU reset that anyone can do... i mean like the Technosquare ECU flash, or even replacing the ECU with another one (chipping?)

Guess not alot of ppl come by this section. I should post in general section. =p
Old 03-11-2008, 01:00 PM
CrazyRuskie
Crazy Russian Super Mod

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
I think what you're referring to are:

1 "chip" - Piggyback ecu unit, like the PROcede for the BMW 335i. It doesn't require reprogramming the actual ECU, it just plugs in to the ECU & takes control.

2. ECU Reflash - That is when a tuner will actually reflash the factory ECU with their settings / programming. That will be more tuned towards what mods you have done to your car etc.
Old 03-11-2008, 01:11 PM
LAZY TURBO

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Chip = an actualy microchip gets attatched to or replaces your current ECU

Reflash = when you overwrite the program on the OEM ECU
Old 03-11-2008, 01:50 PM
The1andOnly