Intake and Exhaust The ultimate forum to ask, discuss, and answer tech related questions regarding MyG37 intake and exhaust.

Help ? Upgraded from GTHAUS axle-back to full cat-back

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2018, 04:49 PM
Kaighal
Registered Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Unhappy Help ? Upgraded from GTHAUS axle-back to full cat-back

Hello,

I have been owning and (daily) driving a G37 Convertible since 2010.

My car only had a muffler change for years, it was the Meisterschaft muffler from "GT Haus", that made the exhaust note louder and lower. If you are curious, I had made a before-after video that can be found here :

Recently, the OEM front "Y" part of my exhaust line was damaged, and I figured that it would be a good idea to get the rest of the Meisterschaft line, so I ordered their front "Y" and mid sections.

The result is not satisfying. The note is even louder now (maybe too loud ?) but that is not my main concern. The surprise is that it is not as low now. It has become higher-pitched and more "metallic" (I believe the right word is "raspy" but I am not sure), especially in the mid-range of the RPM. Even from the cabin, I can clearly hear the difference and the noise is no longer pleasant.

I have not shot a video (yet ?) but the result should sound like what can be heard on this one (compare with my video at 1:31) :

I was wondering if a "bad" installation could be the culprit (I had it done at a local garage). If not... I need a solution and thought of different paths.

1 - Some people claim that resonated high-flow "cats" like those from Fast Intentions produce a lower note with only a slight increase of the volume. Would it work ?

2 - I could put the the OEM mid section of the line (which has resonators) back instead of the Mesiterschaft one (which does not have resonators). What would happen then ?

3 - I could put another aftermarket midsection that has resonators and is made with stainless steel, but I do not know any.