G37 Sedan

Windshield question/issues

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2011, 03:17 PM
Antsmarchn

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Windshield question/issues

I was just curious if people are seeing a lot of chips/cracks with the windshield in the G? I have been driving for nearly 20 years and am on my 2nd G sedan, but have had more problems with this windshield than with all other cars combined. I am about to have my 3rd crack repaired by safelite and when speaking to the rep he said they have seen a huge amount of 2007+ G sedans and coupes coming in with crack and chips. He said no other Infiniti has this many issues and he didn't see many problems with the pre-2006s either. I was just wondering if this is common or I have incredibly bad luck?
Old 10-21-2011, 10:46 PM
movinon

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
I think you are having bad luck.
I've put on a little over 16,000 miles, on my 2010 and so far just one small chip. I had it filled.
Over the years I've become more **** in the way I drive. I spend as little as time as possible behind or along side p/u's, dump trucks, semis, etc.
On the highway I wait until I can get completely in front of them before I pass. If there is a slower driver passing a truck I will hold back at a safe distance, until it is clear enough to make a complete pass.
When there are more then 2 lanes in each direction, I try to go an extra lane over when passing trucks.
Tom
Old 10-21-2011, 11:18 PM
cy7878

the BMW I had back in 2003 was the worse. every time a pebble touches the windshield, a chip or crack will happen. I had the thing repaired 3 times in 12 months.

So far the G has been okay.
Old 10-22-2011, 08:56 AM
zoner

Must be that 100+ you are doing on the freeway.
Old 10-22-2011, 11:37 AM
tejasg37x

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I think part of the problem with getting windshield chips these days has a lot to do with the way people don't give a $4it about how they haul stuff in trucks and trailers and more trash on the highways.