G37 Coupe
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

How accurate is the MPG on the home screen of my '11?

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2011, 03:02 PM
G37xNYC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How accurate is the MPG on the home screen of my '11?

So my gas mileage on the home screen when I hit status said 16.2 mpg... But when I just filled up and calculated it using my trip mileage divided by the number of gallons it came out to 15.6... I imagine the trip/gallons is more accurate, but why such a difference? Whenever I do it in my dad's Jeep, my calculation and the car's MPG is just about the same, maybe .1 off. BTW, I have no Navi...
Old 10-10-2011, 04:38 PM
JackM829

Is your car new? That might skew the numbers slightly.

However, as a software engineer, I can tell you that the MPG your screen gives you is most likely a guestimate based upon engine use etc...
Old 10-10-2011, 06:02 PM
G37xNYC

I just surpassed 4,100 miles... So it's not really new... My mileage has definitely gone up 1-2 MPG since I first got her... Was averaging around 13.5-14.5 previously
Old 10-10-2011, 06:34 PM
JSolo
Just say no!!!!!

Received 588 Likes on 492 Posts
That mileage sounds pretty bad . Are you an aggressive driver or one who like to accelerate fast?

As for the display readout, that's actually pretty accurate in my book. I've seen them differ up to 4-5 mpg, usually reading more optimistic than the actual calculated method.
Old 10-10-2011, 06:44 PM
Ibanez540r

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
I religiously reset the MPG on the car every fill-up. I also use an app on my android phone that calculates to the thousandths by entering the exact amount I paid, cost per gallon, odometer reading, and gallons (to the thousanths).

I do both at the same time at the gas station and are nearly dead accurate. The biggest discrepency I have had was .1-.2

Surprisingly accurate.
Old 10-10-2011, 09:31 PM
SleepyMonkey
Registered Member