Warranty - to be or not to be?

Old 05-12-2018, 11:13 PM
NewGVert4me
Registered Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Warranty - to be or not to be?

Hi all. I'm new to the world of G verts, coming from a 2006 M35X that I am passing on to my son. THAT car has completely bullet proof for the 10 years I've owned it. Reading through the forum, it seems that lots of folks encounter issues with the roof, but the rest of the car is pretty dependable. My new to me ride is a 2013 in vibrant red with tan interior and with all of 24K on the odo. It looks virtually new and the single owner did all maintenance at a local Infiniti dealer. I got it a week ago.

Here's my question - The dealer where I bought it (non-Infiniti dealer) tried to sell me an extended warranty for $3.5K. It supposedly covered everything but normal wear items for 84 mos or 100K miles from the day I bought it. When I balked, he quoted a shorter timed plan with a few less miles for around $2.7K. I declined that too but he said I could circle back with him if I reconsider. My thought is to not take the bait but just know that, at some point, I may be out a few thousand if I have a major failure. I guess I'd rather pay it later than now. What would some of you do?

Thanks for the input.
Old 05-13-2018, 12:19 AM
stealthee
Registered Member

Received 200 Likes on 155 Posts
While I'm not in a G I look back and regret buying the extended warranty when I bought my used Lancer. That warranty cost put me upside down on the loan. Had I forgone the warranty I'd be well under the value of the car owed on the loan by now.
Old 05-13-2018, 12:18 PM
FSUGrad90

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Warranty