Engine, Drivetrain & Forced-Induction
Have Technical Questions or Done Modifications to the G37? Find out the answer in here!

Paddle Shifting 101 on the coupe

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2011, 08:07 PM
trulegend
Registered Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Paddle Shifting 101 on the coupe

i am new to the Paddle shifting, been driving manual cars my life.

Couple of question hoping someone can answer for me

When shifting using the paddles do you have to let go of the accelerator like in a manual car when you are shifting?

what is the shift point when in manual mode? how many RPMS should i be shifting at?

While in manual mode and down shifting, when i get to a stop light and put it in first gear, why is there a lag before the car picks up again?

When not in manual mode and you shift to a higher gear does it improve MPG if i am driving 45 MPH in 5th gear?

thx
Old 08-24-2011, 08:15 PM
terrycs
Registered Member

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
I think you're putting too much thought into it.

Just shift like a manual ... i.e. the shift points depend on engine load and RPM. No need to remove gas cuz it is still an automaitc.

Keep in mind the engine likes to rev, so that is where the most torque is. You'll get the feel of it in time.

Originally Posted by trulegend
i am new to the Paddle shifting, been driving manual cars my life.

Couple of question hoping someone can answer for me

When shifting using the paddles do you have to let go of the accelerator like in a manual car when you are shifting?

what is the shift point when in manual mode? how many RPMS should i be shifting at?

While in manual mode and down shifting, when i get to a stop light and put it in first gear, why is there a lag before the car picks up again?

When not in manual mode and you shift to a higher gear does it improve MPG if i am driving 45 MPH in 5th gear?

thx
Old 08-24-2011, 08:33 PM
MACS

Received 24 Likes on 18 Posts
Real easy... put it in DS and drop the hammer.