Engine, Drivetrain & Forced-Induction
Have Technical Questions or Done Modifications to the G37? Find out the answer in here!

Less Drivetrain Loss? 5AT

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2010, 12:18 AM
eatsleepdrum

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Less Drivetrain Loss? 5AT

Hey y'all,

I have been recently contemplating getting different mods (intake, hfc, exhaust) to increase power on my 08 g35s sedan (AT). While sitting here perusing the forums (normally g35driver but y'all seem more up to date haha) it just came to me why not instead of trying to add 8hp for $400, try to decrease initial drivetrain loss? What would be the first things I would have to change and/or modify in order to loose less power through the torque converter and auto tranny?

I am an amateur when it comes to stuff this technical, and would love some help from the community to figure out how to actually get all 306hp from the engine back to the rear wheels.
And just so you know who you're helping [:

thanks in advance dudes
Old 09-04-2010, 12:50 AM
terrycs
Registered Member

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Change out the AT for an MT.
Old 09-04-2010, 05:31 AM
RISKY GUY

Received 43 Likes on 31 Posts
I don't think that is possible.
bring it to a professinal tunner & let them handle that part.
you are gonna need a ton of mods, even then g/l cracking 300whp(it took me a while to make 325whp.)
you are gonna have to spend alot more than $400.
on the bright side, at least you can do a full tune.
try tunning a 37.
Old 09-04-2010, 07:27 AM
MSCA
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I don't think there's any way to significantly reduce drivetrain losses on your car. The biggest losses are in your transmission. Unlike a manual transmission, there's really no direct connection between the engine's crankshaft and an automatic transmission. And you "lose" a bit of power as it goes through the transmission itself.