ECU Tuning / Dyno Data This subforum is specifically aimed at ECU Tuning reviews, questions, dyno charts, etc..

Getting some new mods. Complete noob here, how to tune?

Old 11-16-2016, 09:06 PM
Melophile

Received 19 Likes on 14 Posts
Getting some new mods. Complete noob here, how to tune?

Some I'm going to be getting some intake/exhaust mods done to my G within the next few months, and everywhere I read, everyone says to get a tune after doing mods.

I am a complete noob in this field. How exactly do I get a tune? What would happen if I drive a modded car without a tune? What tools do I need, or would a shop have everything needed? Where do I get a tune? I read that some people send their ECUs somewhere to get it tuned, but I also read that people go to a dyno and get a tune. Do I have to go to a shop that specializes in tuning Nissan/Infiniti, or can I just go to any shop that has a dyno and offers tuning services?

Since my G is my daily, my main goal is to keep the car operating, so I guess that scratches off the mail-your-ECU-to-someone method.
Old 11-17-2016, 10:14 AM
Rybitron
Registered Member

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
First make sure to try searching the forum, there is plenty of info out there.

Your car will run fine with new exhaust and intake. You just need to reset the ECU by unplugging your battery for a minute after you install intake/exhaust.

To get tuned you need to buy a license to uprev or ecutek and take it to someone that knows what they are doing. They will fine tune the ecu, to take advantage of the performance parts you install.

Just installing intake/exhaust will get you more HP, but a tune will give you a bit more and provide options for multiple ecu maps that are geared for different types of driving.
Old 11-17-2016, 12:59 PM
Melophile

Originally Posted by Rybitron
First make sure to try searching the forum, there is plenty of info out there.