Tips to remove stuck caliper pin/bolt?

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2017, 01:48 PM
Quiver
Registered Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Tips to remove stuck caliper pin/bolt?

I'm trying to service my rear brake caliper that seems to be sticking on me but the pin/bolt is not giving at all. I only have the car up on one jack so I'm afraid to pull too hard and risk moving the car off the jack lol.

Does anyone have any tips on what I can do to try and break the bolt loose? I already broke a socket wrench in the process.

Disclaimer: I'm relatively new to servicing parts on my car myself so I don't currently have all of the magical tools that might make certain jobs a hell of a lot easier. (Although this shouldn't be that hard to do) :P
Old 04-28-2017, 02:50 PM
Crazyirish
Premier Member

Received 68 Likes on 57 Posts
First off, dont work on a car that is only supported by one jack. It is not safe. A buddy of mine's coworker recently died doing that (he was all the way under the car). His four year old found him.

Second, once the car is properly supported, a strong socket and breaker bar should easily get the job done. You can get a cheap impact socket (typically identified by their phosphate black finish rather than chrome) and breaker bar at harbor freight for probably under $20.
The following users liked this post:
Quiver (04-28-2017)
Old 04-28-2017, 02:57 PM
Quiver
Registered Member

Originally Posted by Crazyirish
First off, dont work on a car that is only supported by one jack. It is not safe. A buddy of mine's coworker recently died doing that (he was all the way under the car). His four year old found him.

Second, once the car is properly supported, a strong socket and breaker bar should easily get the job done. You can get a cheap impact socket (typically identified by their phosphate black finish rather than chrome) and breaker bar at harbor freight for probably under $20.