Ferrari 550 Maranello V12 Rebuild - MyG37

Other Cars Discussion of all other cars and comparisons with the G

Ferrari 550 Maranello V12 Rebuild

Old 09-03-2015, 11:39 AM   #1
cribbj

Ferrari 550 Maranello V12 Rebuild

I’m new to the G37 community, but I received a warm welcome here from Blnewt & some other folks, and they suggested I start a thread over here on some of the stuff that I play with, as other motorheads may find it interesting.

A little background – I’m an older engineer and have been a hotrodder since well before I could legally drive . Along with the G37, I currently have a ’97 Supra and a ’99 Ferrari 550 Maranello in the stable, but those are “works in progress”, and I needed a reliable DD, so I purchased a 2012 G37 last week, and I’m really pleased with it.

The Ferrari is an interesting story – it’s a 1999 model and only had about 14,000 miles on it when I purchased it in 2010. I’m owner #3, and it seemed to have been well looked after by #1 & #2.

The engine is a 5.5 liter DOHC V12 that puts out 485 BHP @ 7000 RPM. It has twin throttle bodies, hydraulic lifters (yes hydraulic!), sequential injection, and a waste spark ignition system with a 6 tower coilpack and HT leads for each bank. It’s dry sumped, and has twin Bosch Motronic 5.2 ECU’s and twin everything else, except for common cooling and lubricating systems. This engine can run quite happily on either its left or right banks, so if there’s a problem with one, it’ll go into limp mode and run on the other. Here’s a pic of one of these engines that was on eBay recently – it’s easier to get a feel for the motor when it’s out of the car:

Name:  P1300297_zpsoorggksj.jpg
Views: 2295
Size:  7.0 KB

Name:  P1300299_zpsx2s9wbca.jpg
Views: 2294

For those of you who haven’t seen it, here is a really cool video about how this engine is built, and it conveys very well some of the “mystique” of the the Ferrari legend and lore: