Newbie Corner New Members Corner! - If you're new to MyG37.com, please take a moment to check in, introduce yourself and show us your G37!

Newbie here seeking advice

Old 06-07-2017, 05:00 PM
PSA

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie here seeking advice

After being involved in a serious MVA last year, my life was saved by the seatbelt and airbags in my 1999 vehicle (which was totaled), we then purchased a used 2009 Infiniti G37 convertible. Absolutely beautiful and fun to drive, there was nothing we did not love about it....until just recently we noticed that the airbag light would come on when anyone sat in the passenger seat. We also noticed a flashing red airbag warning light next to fuel gage. Took to have diagnostic test run and found out that it needs a new OCS sensor in the seat at a whopping $6400. Nissan/Infiniti recalled 2008, 2010 forward vehicles and excluded the 2009 for this exact defect. I now own a gorgeous, fun convertible but am afraid to drive, do not have $6400 to fix their defect and a car that I cannot sell. Anyone else in this same predicament? Anyone know if I could get a seat for less money that would make the airbags work without paying out the wazoo? I am quite frankly shocked that the 2009 G37 was not on recall list. Thanks

Our Beauty!
Old 06-07-2017, 11:08 PM
blnewt
Movin On!

Received 4,940 Likes on 4,174 Posts
Very nice vert you've got there, what a shame about the seat sensor and the fact it's exempt from the recall. Hopefully you could source a seat from a salvage perhaps, that would have the sensor in working order. Might be worth it to discuss this w/ the Infiniti service dept. regarding the ease w/ which you could swap another seat over.
G/L and hope you can get this resolved w/out going to the poorhouse
Old 06-08-2017, 12:20 AM
crookncastle
Registered Member

Received 66 Likes on 62 Posts