Motorsports / Track Th ultimate forum to discuss motorsports / track related topics for your G37.

Anyone else doing the Houston SCCA Autocross Oct 6-7?

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2018, 10:24 PM
PinkFloyd
Registered Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Anyone else doing the Houston SCCA Autocross Oct 6-7?

I'm new to doing any sort of performance driving event on four wheels, so I signed up for the October 6 Rookie Skool that Houston SCCA does yearly and plan to do the auto-x event the next day.

I was just wondering if anyone else from the forum might be doing the Houston or perhaps DFW area SCCA events. I'm closer to Dallas, but have family around the Woodlands.
Old 09-04-2018, 01:34 AM
slartibartfast
Super Moderator

Received 836 Likes on 715 Posts
It's been years since I autocrossed with SCCA and BMW/Porsche clubs. I'm all about DEs as I prefer more open corners and higher speeds. I've been running with Driven N Blessed at MSR Houston.

Remember to have fun and take water, shade and something to sit on.
Old 09-05-2018, 04:26 PM
m3clubracer
Registered Member

Received 81 Likes on 74 Posts
That is great! Get some Auto-X under your belt and them go to a DE. You will smile for a week and talk about it even longer. Make sure you read up on techniques and tire pressures for your car and tires before you go. I find 4-6 runs of an AX more abusive to tires than 2 days (4-6 hours) of a DE. When you work your way to instructor you get free track time! ;-)
Old 09-05-2018, 07:08 PM
slartibartfast
Super Moderator

Another reason I quit autoX was the huge disparity between track time and event time. A good day will give you four runs, rarely more than a minute each. Yet you spend four to five hours there. I don't know if they still do it, but I would spend half the day waiting to run and the other half resetting cones.