G37 Coupe
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Getting the G37S in Taiwan, my first impressions..

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2007, 02:26 AM
milelin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Getting the G37S in Taiwan, my first impressions..

Hi everyone, i am still a newbie here and want to thank you all first for all the great info on this site which helped me to make my decision for the car.

I now work and live in Taiwan, the car just went on sale here and I’ve got one of the first IP G37S. We only get one trim here, that’s 5AT with sport package and 4WAS. We don’t get Nav or technology option here. I was quite disappointed to hear about the 5AT so I was going to give up and get something else. The test car came yesterday and I know the dealer very well was lucky to take an extensive test drive alone and made my deposit afterwards.

For reference, my last car in the states was a fully built turbocharged 99’ Honda Prelude 5sp that made about 350 WHP and 300 WTQ on pump gas. It’s more of a semi built race car with no A/C. I love cars and work for an auto parts/race parts manufacture here and have driven pretty much all Japanese and German sport cars.

My first impression was how the VQ37 differs from the 35HR and the DE. The 35 is a very unique engine in that it has a very nice flat torque feel that you rarely find in Japanese engines. It pulls nicely but after 5k, you really don’t get much except the exhaust note. The 37 is quite different, it actually feels weaker in lower revs but it pulls very nice all the way to the limiter. Its very rev happy, it actually felt like a big displacement Honda and that’s a good thing. It’s also much smoother and refined with a nicer (IMO) exhaust note that resembles a high revving German NA machine. VVEL has changed the character of this motor greatly and I am sure it will get better in the future, especially in the low and mid range. However, the complexity of the cam design will probably limit NA tuning to simple bolt-ons only.