Thinking of buying a G37

Old 02-15-2018, 10:06 PM
New B in G

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thinking of buying a G37

Hello all, I’m thinking of buying a G37 definetly a convertible. At first I wanted a 1000hp build until I read a thread on this forum and saw that it’s basically retarded so I want to ask you guys if you have any suggestion on how I should build it. I’ve never built before I know I want a car to cruise around in and eat up open roads occasionally but mostly to cruise and go to meets to mingle. How do you guys suggest I start off.

Ps I’m going automatic bc I’ve never driven stick.
( please don’t bite my head off )
Old 02-16-2018, 01:01 AM
slartibartfast
Super Moderator

Received 836 Likes on 715 Posts
Well, neither the engine nor transmission will support anywhere near a thousand hp. Full bolt-ons and tune can get you to about 330 to the wheels. It'll take forced induction to get further gains. Then you're stuck with the 7AT that cries "uncle" at about 400 hp.

You'll have to be more specific in re "eat up roads". Do you mean straight line speed or do you mean handling?
The following users liked this post:
New B in G (02-18-2018)
Old 02-16-2018, 08:15 AM
RMB5190
Super Moderator

Received 500 Likes on 429 Posts
As someone who has never built a car up before, and has never taken the time to learn stick (no judgement), I'm going to go out on a limb and guess that you're new to the enthusiast scene. It's my opinion, that you wet your beak with this car in stock form first. I think you'll find that there's more than enough power there to get you in trouble. That 330-350 HP figure is quite deceptive.
New B in G (02-18-2018)
Old 02-16-2018, 11:18 AM
New B in G

Originally Posted by RMB5190