Engine, Intake and Exhaust Subforum dedicated to breather or engine mods (intakes, exhaust, pulleys, N/A mods etc.)

My Custom Straight Pipes Review

Old 07-27-2013, 05:11 PM
LAg37s94

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Custom Straight Pipes Review

Hey all,

I'm new to the myG37 community, and this will be my first post! I'd like to share my review of my new pipes.

About a month ago, I installed new straight pipes in my 2013 G37S 6MT. I had spent months before that poring over different exhaust threads, watching YouTube videos of different exhaust setups, and wishing I had more money to spend on making my G sound better. Some setups that I liked sounded great, but were too expensive. I saw resonator deletes and regular straight pipes that all sounded way too raspy and pretty much like a different car. I even looked into cutouts (for those of you who don't know, they're electronically controlled butterfly valves that open and close, essentially switching your exhaust from stock to muffler/resonator delete at the push of a button) but decided against them because of all the cutting/welding and the final cost of that project. I love the classic VQ sound, and my goal was to keep that sound but just make it louder when I want it to be loud, and reasonably quiet without drone while cruising.

The Setup
After extensive research, I decided to do straight pipes, but with a twist. I had a custom dual-layer pipe installed, which is essentially a pipe within a pipe. I did this because I was afraid of boomy drone while cruising, as well as the crappy ricer rasp of a typical straight-pipe/muffler delete setup. I heard this in the flesh when I drove around without my mufflers for a day. It was incredibly loud and sounded great at some rev ranges, but was raspy, unrefined, and extremely heavy on drone. After a bit of trial and error, we finished the project successfully. In the end, I could not be happier with the result of our work.

Sound