Drivetrain Reviews of clutches, gear mods, diffs, axles etc..

Review Bell Raceworks rear differential brace

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2020, 08:30 AM
Rochester
Administrator

Received 4,573 Likes on 3,424 Posts
Ah. You installed the brace while still using the OEM main diff bushing. OK.

I'm not an engineer, but I don't see how the brace could hasten the bushing failure. If anything, it would delay it.

GL with the JB Weld fix. FWIW, my main OEM bushing was totally fine when I upgraded to Whiteline. The only reason I had my old mechanic do that work was because the diff was off the car for something else.

If you go to a shop, figure $100 in parts, and 3-4 hours of time on the lift. All that for a mod you probably won't even notice because of your diff brace. Yeah... JB Weld is the way to go.

Last edited by Rochester; 05-25-2020 at 08:36 AM.
Old 05-25-2020, 10:18 AM
RMB5190
Super Moderator

Received 500 Likes on 429 Posts
That's my thought. Motorvate DIY's seems to have held up pretty well when he did his 1 yr. review. If my car was a 6MT, I'd do a legit upgrade but as you mentioned, I can't really see a noticeable difference since the brace is already in place and the 7AT doesn't reap as much of a benefit; at least at my cars' power level.

Honestly, I probably wouldn't have known it let out if I didn't crawl under to replace the mid pipe to Y pipe gasket.
Old 08-12-2020, 01:47 PM
ryanwhite74115
Registered Member

Received 40 Likes on 36 Posts
Anyone have instructions on how to install the diff brace on the Z1 cover, such as what size ratchets I need and torque specs, etc? Wondering if I can do this in my garage with a jack.
Old 08-12-2020, 02:40 PM
dbl07
Registered Member

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
This should help you.

Old 09-02-2020, 06:56 PM
bPChaos
Registered Member

Received 65 Likes on 55 Posts
My OEM style diff brace needed some... creative massaging with a cutting wheel to clear a new exhaust. There is now 70% of one brace rather than two.