D.I.Y. Installations/Modifications Do It Yourself guides and information for the G37. Stickies approved by Administrators and Moderators.

How to Replace the Fuel Damper

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2016, 08:00 PM
mrittman
Registered Member

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
How to Replace the Fuel Damper

Find yourself smelling gasoline from inside the car when you're at a stop? You may have a faulty fuel damper. You may really smell it through the vents when you turn your A/C on. Here's a photo of the leaky damper:

I found a genuine Nissan replacement part for $68 on eBay. The part number is 22675-JK20B. It comes with a new damper, fuel hose, and o-ring.

Please keep in mind that I'm not a certified mechanic, and will not be held responsible if anything goes wrong. Proceed at your own risk!

This replacement took me about 4 hours to do, but I was relying on Internet research as I went about it and had barely done any work on Infiniti vehicles. So if you're pretty savvy with Infiniti, you could probably do it much quicker

Tools:
Ratchet Wrench
10mm Socket
Socket Extension
10mm Wrench
Flathead Screwdriver
Needle Nose Pliers
Flashlight
Pick
Floor Jack (low profile)
Jack Stands

Step 1: Depressurize Fuel Line

Before you remove the old fuel damper, you'll want to release the pressure that is built up in the lines. If not, gas will spray everywhere when you remove the fuel damper (I learned this the hard way). To do this, we need to remove the fuel pump fuse, located under the hood.