MyG37

MyG37 (https://www.myg37.com/forums/)
-   Car Care & Detailing (https://www.myg37.com/forums/car-care-and-detailing-318/)
-   -   streaks after wax? (https://www.myg37.com/forums/car-care-and-detailing/210833-streaks-after-wax.html)

mystakin 07-25-2010 12:43 AM

streaks after wax?

so i went to go wash my car and give it a wax while i was at it. i started with a simple spray down of cold water then used turtlewax's ice car wash liquid and wiped it on the car. washed it off and dried the car off. then i went to put some wax. im no pro detailer and dont have a lot of money to pay for every step of the way for a perfect detailing job. i clay bar'd the car about a month ago so i didnt bother with that again. i bought some of meguiar's quick wax spray, supposedly its supposed to add a layer of wax right out of the bottle, with minimal effort. i wasnt in any mood to spend a couple hours waxing the car with my tech wax 2.0 haha. anyways, i noticed as i applied the spray i was getting streaks on my car. it looked like oil streaks or something, almost like the marks you get when you rub your hands over a car, that oily mark. i used a different cloth and got the same result. brought out my black carnuba wax from my turtlewax black box detail kit and had similar problems. i them applied pressure with a clean cloth and rubbed the marks out.
any idea what had happened? am i missing a step in my detailing process that caused this?

hispeed-lowdrag 07-25-2010 08:04 AM

You're using a crappy product for one...I used to think Turtle Wax products were the sh!t but they really are not high quality at all. I would get something better and see if it still happens

beerme986 07-25-2010 09:52 AM

I get this problem with tech wax as well, it shows especially on black cars. hopefully somebody knows how to get these grease marks out without killing your arms.

Loi 07-25-2010 10:02 AM