Rollers and Rubbers (View All Posts)

Brake light on cluster off under hard braking, on while driving

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2018, 03:17 PM
m3clubracer
Registered Member

Received 81 Likes on 74 Posts
Unhappy Brake light on cluster off under hard braking, on while driving

After changing the rear pads and front lines to SS I have the BRAKE, VDC, and traction control lights on upon initial start. The brake light turns off under hard braking only and then comes back on about 2-3 seconds after a full or partial stop. BTW the reservoir is full. The crazy brake light activity started immediately after this event. I had to bleed the brakes excessively as the StopTech banjo bolts DON'T FIT the base calipers and the reservoir went dry while trying use them. Stupid. I am not an electrical expert.
Is this most likely the brake light switch at the pedal, or speed sensors, or ???
The pedal is more firm now than before but is there air in the ABS and it needs to be cycled or bled?
Does the $tealer need to turn these off?

Thanks in advance for reading.
Old 11-14-2018, 04:04 PM
Gabebapes

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
check to see u ddnt unplug speed sensors by mistake
Old 11-14-2018, 04:10 PM
m3clubracer
Registered Member

There is no chance of that. Negative. Thanks. In fact I even took them out of the hub blew them off and made sure that they weren't damaged and then reinstall them trying to diagnose this
Old 11-14-2018, 09:19 PM
slartibartfast
Super Moderator

Received 836 Likes on 715 Posts
I would look over EVERYTHING you touched during this brake job. Make sure all the wheel sensors are plugged in and the reservoir is at max level.
Old 11-14-2018, 09:38 PM
JSolo
Just say no!!!!!

Received 588 Likes on 492 Posts
Maybe the abs module needs to be bled? My understanding is this requires the nissan tool to toggle it on/off.
Old 11-15-2018, 07:47 AM
Baadnewsburr
Super Moderator

Received 319 Likes on 276 Posts
Originally Posted by m3clubracer