Help 13 G37xS Loud "Creaking" noise while braking

Old 05-21-2018, 12:17 AM
Cx Hatch

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
13 G37xS Loud "Creaking" noise while braking

Link to video:
https://youtu.be/yDWGAQkHF8U

UPDATE: Different brake pads solved the issue. The dealer had used the cheap Duralast Semi-Metallic pads while "Getting the car ready for sale" before I purchased it. Replaced those with a nice set of Ceramic brake pads and it's now good to go. NO NOISE AT ALL ANYMORE

I have searched around but never found an answer or solution to the problem.

I have a 2013 G37xs Sedan I purchased recently, 63k miles. Brake pads have alot of life left and the rotors don't look too bad visually but I'm no expert.

During mild braking, usually from around 25mph til stop. I get this loud "creaking" noise from the front driver side brakes. It's a "rotational" noise.

Anyone ever find the solution to this issue?

My car is the Sedan XS so it has the basic brake package.

Last edited by Cx Hatch; 05-23-2018 at 12:40 AM. Reason: Fixed Problem
Old 05-21-2018, 05:52 AM
Surfnazi
Registered Member

Received 176 Likes on 165 Posts
Look as at the rotor to see if its scored bc something got stuck on the pad. Else take rotor off clean inside the hat any buildup and apply some copper grease
Old 05-22-2018, 09:19 PM
Cx Hatch

Today I changed the front brake pads and fixed the issue.
(Rotors were in good shape)

The brake pads I removed were basically brand new, looked fine and seemed to have nothing wrong with them. When I looked up the part # they were a Duralast Semi-Metallic set $24.99 from autozone. I purchased the car 2 months ago from a Ford dealer and that loud creaking has been happening ever since. I suspect the dealer put those pads on there.

Well after installing a new set of Wagner OEx Ceramic pads, all noise is completely GONE!

I guess the WRONG set of brake pads can really cause alot of noise and aggravation.
Old 05-23-2018, 12:41 AM
slartibartfast
Super Moderator