MyG37

MyG37 (https://www.myg37.com/forums/)
-   Brakes & Suspension (https://www.myg37.com/forums/brakes-and-suspension-306/)
-   -   How to properly brake to a stop in 6MT? (https://www.myg37.com/forums/brakes-and-suspension/208662-how-to-properly-brake-to-a-stop-in-6mt.html)

AUC2MIC 05-23-2010 09:04 PM

How to properly brake to a stop in 6MT?

Sorry for the noob question, but I am fairly new to driving manual and I always wondered how to properly brake to a stop.
1) Some have told me to clutch in, brake, and just cycle through the gears without clutching out until you have come to a stop.
2) Others have told me to just clutch in, downshift, clutch out and repeat until 2nd gear at which point you will clutch in and stop.
3) Others have said the best way is to do the same as 2) but heel-toe rev match while you are downshifting so you can brake at the same time

I'm assuming 3) is the 'correct' way, but also the most difficult?

Dieseldoug22 05-23-2010 09:13 PM

Most of those sound like emergency ways of stopping. You know that way you can be in a gear if you need to hit the gas.

I kick in the clutch and hit the brake at the same time. And just through it in neutral after I hit the clutch.

The other ways are A LOT of work, EVERY TIME you stop. You'll get tired of that after 2 days.

AUC2MIC 05-23-2010 09:16 PM

Originally Posted by Dieseldoug22 (Post 2912454)
Most of those sound like emergency was of stopping. You know that way you can be in a gear if you need to hit the gas.

I kick in the clutch and hit the brake at the same time. And just through it in neutral after I hit the clutch.

The other ways are A LOT of work, EVERY TIME you stop. You'll get tired of that after 2 days.

Thanks, that does sound pretty practical... but wouldn't there be a delay if say, the light suddenly turned green again?

hispeed-lowdrag 05-23-2010 09:21 PM