Intake and Exhaust The ultimate forum to ask, discuss, and answer tech related questions regarding MyG37 intake and exhaust.

Help Takeda Short ram cold air intakes

Old 01-19-2017, 11:14 AM
sboucher

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Takeda Short ram cold air intakes

Hello,

I am new to this site and have recently purchased a 2012 G37XS coupe and love it. Now that I have been driving it for a few months I have noticed the acceleration(pedal) lag and am looking for more power. I've been reading tons of threads on potential mods and I have a few questions. Takeda short ram intakes state they provide an additional 18HP plus 20 pounds/ft of torque and quicker throttle response just by replacing your stock COI. Anyone buy/install these and have you seen the stated improvements?

Second question is what is best bang for the buck mods for better HP, throttle response and torque using an Uprev tune? Obviously you can go crazy spending tons of money so I'm looking to make a difference while not spending thousands of dollars. I currently love how the exhaust sounds so its more performance I'm looking for not aesthetics.

Thanks in advance for any feedback on this
Old 10-02-2017, 06:39 PM
outsider0506

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

I just had these installed today... I'll let you know how it goes. Just from my readings on the Torque Pro app, my MAF shows a lot more air, but the Intake temperature is also higher; but this is what I expected.

I seriously doubt that I'm going to get 18HP and 20 ft/lbs torque, but I can tell you that I really like the additional engine growl at about 3000 RPM!

My mechanics said that there were some fitment issues on the driver's side intake, where they had to bend the chassis mounting arm a bit and the tube's angle isn't perfect. Anyways, take note of that if you decide on this kit.

Last edited by outsider0506; 10-02-2017 at 06:41 PM. Reason: added installation issues.
Old 10-03-2017, 08:16 AM
NealP
Premier Member

Received 71 Likes on 65 Posts