G37 Sedan

New G37 Owner

Old 07-10-2016, 12:39 PM
JP-77

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New G37 Owner

Hello all, I'm new to Infiniti and just purchased a 09 G37. Love the car, it's fun to drive for sure, but I have a little issue already.

I say little issue because we just bought the car yesterday, and the dealership should be able to take care of it. The papers haven't been completed yet, so we can take it back if needed.

We bought it from a big Volkswagen dealership, they got it in as a trade.
It's a 09 G37 with 126k miles on it. The car is in amazing shape, we took it for a test drive and noticed it sounded like it was revving at high rpm's or like it wasn't shifting.

After watching the RPM gauge you could see the car was shifting smooth and at the right RPM's. So the dealer said they may have installed some kind of after market exhaust to make it sound more aggressive.

So I went with the idea they may have did a aftermarket exhaust since we did test drive one earlier that day with aftermarket exhaust and it was loud.

however after getting it home and getting a jack under it I saw it was the stock exhaust, so tranny shifts fine it doesn't run at high rpm's and engine sounds great. The only 2 things i could think of is a wheel hub/bearing or drive shaft.

I checked all 4 wheels with the wheel jacked up and checking for any play with the 6 o'clock and 12 o'clock position. All 4 wheels had no play what so ever, then I noticed while turning the back wheels while in neutral, you could hear a whistle/squeal noise coming from the front or rear drive shaft.

If I had to guess I would say it sounded more like it was coming from the front or center area. And at higher speeds it sounds like the car is running at high rpm's, but it's not.